June 28-29, 2021
11:00 AM – 6:00 PM (ET)

Agenda under development

The DOE’s Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) program is seeking input from current and potential future users of high-performance computing and data analytics capabilities in order to inform future procurements. On June 28-29, 2021, a workshop will be held to facilitate a discussion on computational mission needs in the areas of clean energy and advanced manufacturing.

The Leadership Computing Facility is a collaborative, multi-lab, DOE/ASCR initiative ranked as a top domestic priority. Two centers, the Argonne Leadership Computing Facility (ALCF) and Oak Ridge Leadership Computing Facility (OLCF), address diverse and growing computational needs of the scientific community. Our mission is to provide an ecosystem, including partnering opportunities, that enables unsurpassed capability computing opportunities and the associated science and engineering breakthroughs.

We administer and support two highly competitive open science user allocation programs (INCITE, ALCC ) which provide computational allocations typically 100 times greater than routinely available for university, laboratory, and industrial scientific and engineering environments.

The LCF hosts world-class computational infrastructure, including Summit, currently the US’s fastest computer. Frontier and Aurora will be the nation’s first exascale computers, and will enter operations in 2022 and 2023, respectively. The OLCF has the capability to host and work with ITAR, HIPAA, and other sensitive data sets on Summit and other OLCF compute platforms via the CITADEL security framework.

The LCFs are augmenting their strategy to adapt to changing science needs and emerging technologies, and to leverage the utility of exascale computing across the federal government. Strategic needs are being assessed in technology areas such as:

  • AI/ML
  • Advanced data analytics & workflows
  • Heterogenous accelerated computing
  • Next generation HPC and data ecosystems from leadership compute to the edge
  • Software and hardware technologies to enhance the science mission

In this workshop we seek to identify stakeholder groups within other DOE program offices whose mission needs intersect the LCF, identify present and future use cases, strategic objectives, and anticipated needs. In particular, we seek to explore the following questions:

  • What are the challenge problems in your mission area that will be dominant in 5-15 years that HPC and data science can help solve?
  • What computational resources do you need? (computational, storage, networking)
  • What existing efforts do you have that utilize HPC? AI/ML? Analysis of large data sets?
  • If you could design the ideal computational infrastructure/ecosystem to address the challenges in your mission space, what would it look like?

Computational Mission Needs in Clean Energy and Manufacturing