titan

Up since 11/8/17 02:45 pm

eos

Up since 11/14/17 11:20 pm

rhea

Up since 10/17/17 05:40 pm

hpss

Up since 11/20/17 09:15 am

atlas1

Up since 11/15/17 07:25 am

atlas2

Up since 11/27/17 10:45 am
OLCF User Assistance Center

Can't find the information you need below? Need advice from a real person? We're here to help.

OLCF support consultants are available to respond to your emails and phone calls from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST, Monday through Friday, exclusive of holidays. Emails received outside of regular support hours will be addressed the next business day.

Data Management Policy Summary

See this article in context within the following user guides: Eos | Rhea | Titan

Users must agree to the full Data Management Policy as part of their account application. The “Data Retention, Purge, & Quotas” section is useful and is summarized below.

Data Retention, Purge, & Quota Summary
User-Centric Storage Areas
Area Path Type Permissions Quota Backups Purged Retention
User Home $HOME NFS User-controlled 10 GB Yes No 90 days
User Archive /home/$USER HPSS User-controlled 2 TB [1] No No 90 days
Project-Centric Storage Areas
Area Path Type Permissions Quota Backups Purged Retention
Project Home /ccs/proj/[projid] NFS 770 50 GB Yes No 90 days
Member Work $MEMBERWORK/[projid] Lustre® 700 [2] 10 TB No 14 days 14 days
Project Work $PROJWORK/[projid] Lustre® 770 100 TB No 90 days 90 days
World Work $WORLDWORK/[projid] Lustre® 775 10 TB No 90 days 90 days
Project Archive /proj/[projid] HPSS 770 100 TB [3] No No 90 days
Area The general name of storage area.
Path The path (symlink) to the storage area’s directory.
Type The underlying software technology supporting the storage area.
Permissions UNIX Permissions enforced on the storage area’s top-level directory.
Quota The limits placed on total number of bytes and/or files in the storage area.
Backups States if the data is automatically duplicated for disaster recovery purposes.
Purged Period of time, post-file-creation, after which a file will be marked as eligible for permanent deletion.
Retention Period of time, post-account-deactivation or post-project-end, after which data will be marked as eligible for permanent deletion.
Important! Files within “Work” directories (i.e., Member Work, Project Work, World Work) are not backed up and are purged on a regular basis according to the timeframes listed above.

[1] In addition, there is a quota/limit of 2,000 files on this directory.

[2] Permissions on Member Work directories can be controlled to an extent by project members. By default, only the project member has any accesses, but accesses can be granted to other project members by setting group permissions accordingly on the Member Work directory. The parent directory of the Member Work directory prevents accesses by “UNIX-others” and cannot be changed (security measures).

[3] In addition, there is a quota/limit of 100,000 files on this directory.